What is Facebook segmentation matrix all about?

The Facebook segmentation matrix. | Download Scientific Diagram

The first question is why Facebook? It is because Facebook is currently the largest social media platform in the world with 2.4 billion users. This also mean there are tons of opportunities businesses can have on Facebook platform to target their consumers.

Before we talk more about how businesses segment their target market, let’s us review what Facebook segmentation matrix is all about.

Segmentation

The four segments in the matrix consist of Attention Seekers, Devotees, Entertainment Chasers and Connection Seekers.

Attention Seekers: Just like what you think, consumers under this segment like to gain attention. Their motivation for using Facebook is to gain attention from their friends and in order to do that, they will be active on their page, constantly update photos, video and status of their daily life.

Devotees: Consumers that fall under this segment will also be called the “Facebook addicts”. To them, Facebook has become a part of their life. Devotees can find relief on the Facebook platform, they treat Facebook like a mini blog whereby they can share their stories their followers.

Entertainment Chasers: Consumers that fall under this segment are people that uses Facebook when they are bored and looking for some entertainment content to pass time. Therefore they are at the bottom left of the matrix which characterised as low creation and consumption.

Connection Seekers: Consumers that fall in this segment are people that treat Facebook as an enhancement of their friendships between their friends as well as maintaining/updating friendships even when circumstances do not allow them to meet (For example; Covid19). To them, it is just another way to hang out with friends.

Seeking attention or connection? Highly Devoted? Or just there for ...

Marketing Strategies

After knowing these segments, marketers can easily target the consumers and create value based on their overall behavior and motivation for using the medium. Such as figure 2 above shows what can attract the segments. For example, I have been receiving notification about what my friends been posting on the platform and the videos suggested for me are either sports or games that i am interested in. That’s right, I fall under two segments; Entertainment Chasers and Connection Seekers.

So what do you guys think of the Facebook segmentation matrix? And what segments are you guys in? Leave a comment below and let me know about it!

4 thoughts on “What is Facebook segmentation matrix all about?

  1. Hi Dann,

    I am personally from the Entertainment Chaser segment as I love taking part in quizzes and giveaways. I mean who doesn’t like prizes right? It is really interesting how Facebook and segment in a way where most people will fall under at least 1 of the categories. Just curious, if people change their interest over time, do Facebook shift their interest segment automatically?

    Like

    1. Thank you for reading Ryan!

      We can be friends as I am part of the Entertainment Chaser segment as well! Although the chances of the giveaway are extremely low I always there to try my luck again, now I know why I didn’t get to win every time as I had to compete with all the “me”.

      Back to your question, Facebook will update your profile data every second you use Facebook, so whenever our interest change, Facebook will slowly shift our segments according to our data, hence there are people falls under two segments (like me) at the same time.

      Like

  2. Hi Dann,

    It was an insightful read on how Facebook uses segmentation matrix to properly identify their most avid users. I believe that I am an entertainment chaser when I’m resting throughout the end of my day but at the same time I seek to strengthen my connection with my peers through the Facebook platform just like you.

    With the difference in segmentation of Facebook, how do you think they have personalised our experience and created value for us as a Connection seeker? I would love to know what you think on the matter!

    Like

    1. Thank you for reading SIraj!

      Guess there are quite a number of people in the same segments as us! In our current age, we are all busy studying/working and do not have the time to physically connect with our peers therefore, we decided to choose an alternative platform to strengthen our connection!

      Back to your question, if you notice Facebook will send us a notification about what our friends are doing such as what post they share (friends interests), Facebook has been a great birthday calender for me personally so I wouldn’t forget anyone birthday and lastly, Facebook linked our Instagram account together.

      Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started